Robin Thinks!
Robin Thinks! Deconstructing Books That Wrecked Us
I Kissed Dating Goodbye Part 4: What Is Love?
0:00
-49:29

I Kissed Dating Goodbye Part 4: What Is Love?

There may be few topics that are more widely discussed and hotly debated than what it means to love, particularly in relationship to sexuality. Popular culture obviously paints or presents one image of love as it relates to sex that often clashes fiercely with religious views. In my opinion, neither one actually aligns with how the Bible defines love when it comes to romantic or intimate relationships. In chapter 5, Joshua Harris tells the story of two couples: Jeff and Gloria and Eric and Leslie. Jeff and Gloria got a hotel room and had sex, while Eric and Leslie didn’t even kiss until their wedding day.

Needless to say, Joshua holds Eric and Leslie up as being the epitome of Christian virtue, but are they really? Joshua compares the secular view of love to I Corinthians 13, which is often called the “love chapter.” He seems to believe that somehow just waiting until you get married to have sex is the most “loving” think you can do. I would argue that most religious views on sexuality don’t align with I Corinthians 13 any better than the values perpetuated by secular culture. Join me as I take a deeper dive into the relationship choices these two couples made to determine who really acted more “Biblically.”

If you enjoy this podcast or find it helpful, please consider sharing!

Follow me on Twitter // Follow me on IG // Visit my website

Share

Here is the link to the open letter I reference in this episode.

0 Comments
Robin Thinks!
Robin Thinks! Deconstructing Books That Wrecked Us
Too many Christians are taught to not question religious authority, which means they are taught to not use critical thinking skills. Most books have something beneficial to offer, but many also contain destructive or damaging teachings and Christians aren't taught to separate the two. In this podcast we will deconstruct some of the most popular Christian books to uncover what is worth keeping and what needs to be thrown away.