Robin Thinks!
Robin Thinks! Deconstructing Books That Wrecked Us
Love & Respect Part 1: Do Men & Women Really Have Different Needs?
6
0:00
-46:37

Love & Respect Part 1: Do Men & Women Really Have Different Needs?

6

Dr. Emerson Eggerichs wrote an entire book on the idea that men need respect and women need love. A premise that he based on a single verse in the Bible. That, to me, is already problematic because the Bible is a compilation of books that cover a time span of several thousand years and is written by more than 50 different authors. Too often, when people pull out a single verse and build a premise on it, their premise doesn’t align with the rest of the book. I think that is true here.

Even more concerning is his idea that women don’t need to be respected, only men do. While that seems to be a wildly popular idea among men, it actually sets women up as being lesser beings. I think it is hugely problematic to assert that men and women have very different needs and I also don’t think it in any way aligns with either the overarching message of the Bible or the message of Jesus. Join me today as I examine whether men and women really have different needs.

Here is a link to my Anchor page if you would like to leave me a voice message.

Here is a link to my iTunes page if you would like to subscribe, share, rate or leave a comment.

Follow me on Twitter // Follow me on IG // Visit my website

If you enjoy this podcast or find it helpful, please consider sharing!

6 Comments
Robin Thinks!
Robin Thinks! Deconstructing Books That Wrecked Us
Too many Christians are taught to not question religious authority, which means they are taught to not use critical thinking skills. Most books have something beneficial to offer, but many also contain destructive or damaging teachings and Christians aren't taught to separate the two. In this podcast we will deconstruct some of the most popular Christian books to uncover what is worth keeping and what needs to be thrown away.